Queensland construction achievers announced

The awards were announced at a dinner at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre on Friday night in recognition of the achievements of trainers, workers and employers in the building and construction industry.The Training Excellence Awards included the inaugural Judges’ Outstanding Achievement Award as well as the Phil Boron Memorial Award and the Special Recognition Award, making the night one full of celebration. The winners were as follows: Phil Boron Memorial Award – Joel McNultySpecial Recognition Award – Peter Lyons from BMD ConstructionsJudges’ Outstanding Achievement Award – Moranbah State High School, Middlemount Community School and Dysart State High SchoolTraining Excellence – Schools ProgramHutchinson Builders Award for Construction School of the Year – St Edmund’s College in Ipswich
HIA Apprentices Award for Construction School Student of the Year – Leo Pozzebon from Kirwan
Learning Organisation Excellence Awards
Department of Education, Training and The Arts Award for Public Registered Training Organisation of the Year – Tropical North Institute of TAFE in Cairns
ACPET Award for Private Registered Training Organisation of the Year – Careers Australia Institute of Training in Salisbury
QLeave Award for Individual Trainer of the Year – Stephen Lawson from City East
Employer Leadership Awards
QBuild Award for Employer Leader in Training – Qld up to $5M Turnover – Cooltecq in Cairns
Construction Training Centre Award for Employer Leader in Training – Qld over $5M Turnover – Hutchinson Builders in Toowong
Stars of 2008
BMD Constructions Award for Indigenous Construction Worker of the Year – Michael Obah in South Johnstone
NAWIC Award for Construction Female of the Year – Tahnee Wilson from Underwood
SkillsTech Australia Award for Trainee of the Year – Nathan LaFauci from Tully Heads
Boral Asphalt Construction Apprentice of the Year – Loree Sinnott from Burleigh Heads

Send this to a friend