Evans says time is up for Tyremil site

The Minister for Waste and Assistant Minister for the Environment, Trevor Evans described the Tyremil site in Queensland as a “ticking time bomb” and called on the Queensland government to shut it down. The Minister’s response comes just a year after Queensland businessman Tony Di Carlo was fined $200,000 for a series of environmental breaches …

Battery Stewardship Scheme takes off

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) has granted the two authorisations necessary for the implementation of an industry-led Battery Stewardship Scheme. The Scheme aims to significantly increase the recycling of batteries and end the wasteful and dangerous practice of landfill disposal of batteries. The Battery Stewardship Council (BSC) chair Gerry Morvell described the action as “a …

WMMR renews with state working groups

Following on from the recent Board and State Branch Committee elections, Waste Management and Resource Recovery Association of Australia (WMRR) has announced its 2020-2022 state working group leaders.

“To all who nominated and voted, thank you. The nomination process drew a number of responses from a wide range of members, and we’re delighted to welcome all chairs, vice chairs, and secretaries,” WMRR CEO, Gayle Sloan said.

“WMRR is excited to be working with all these leaders over the next two years and thanks outgoing chairs, vice chairs, and secretaries for their time and commitment to the association.

“As new State Branch and working group leaders settle in, the WMRR national office is working closely with them and we are really keen to drive further engagement and participation across all states. Tasmania is the last of the completely new leadership teams to meet, so please get involved and reach out if you would like to participate.”

WMMR added that financial members are also welcome to join their State Branch Committees and working groups.

WMRR’s 2020-2022 State Working Group leaders

Working group Chair Vice chair Secretary
New South Wales
Resource Recovery and Market Development (RRMD) Vanessa Seaton, Veolia Dayne Steggles, Benedict Recycling
Energy from Waste (EfW) Edward Nicholas, Tribe Infrastructure Group Miles Mason, New Energy Corporation Jade Garth, Arup
Waste educators Reyhaneh Behboudi, WSROC Claire Mahendradatta, MRA Consulting Tarah Slattery, City of Canterbury Bankstown
Young Professionals (YPs) Celine El-Khouri, SLR Consulting Claire Mahendradatta, MRA Consulting Susann Noe
Landfill Ark Du, Veolia Shaun Rainford, Arup Tricao Vo, Global Synthetics
Construction and demolition (C&D) Jason Sweeney, Boral Terry Martin, Brandown
RRMD Steve Robertson, AECOM Gavin Crawford, Bundaberg Regional Council
EfW Blake Almond, Henshall Capital Chris Alexander, Phoenix Power Recyclers
Waste educators Christine Blanchard Alix Baltais, EnviroCom
YPs Shady Goodarzi, AECOM Darcy O’Brien, EnviroCom
Landfill Colin Kangas, Remondis Amir Shahkolahi, Global Synthetics Hayley Page, Townsville City Council
South Australia/Northern Territory
RRMD Marina Wagner, Sustainable Solutions Sarah Barrett, Adelaide Hills Region Waste Management Authority
EfW Raoul McAlister, RDM Solutions
Waste educators Grace Barila, KESAB
YPs Matthew Allan, Rawtec
Landfill Thomas Gallasch, Cleanaway
Tasmania – no nominations held at this time
RRMD Brad Mashman, Recovery (TAS)
Landfill Christine Bell, Southern Waste Solutions
RRMD Kelvin Davies, Nextek Bettina Zimmerman, GHD
EfW Gillian Hand-Smith, Sustainability by Innovation Andy Race, SUEZ Stuart Banks, GE
Waste educators T.B.C. T.B.C. T.B.C.
YPs Julian Howard, SMEC Gerianne Robles, Sustainability Victoria Roger Britto, Tonkin+Taylor
Landfill Lachlan James, SMEC Luke Adams, Tonkin+Taylor
Western Australia
EfW Jason Pugh, Laing Investment Management Services John King, Talis Consultants
Waste educators Libby Eustance, WMRC Teresa Belcher, SMRC
Landfill Ian Watkins, IW Projects
C&D Jake Hickey, Instant Waste


Battery recycling plant gets green light

It’s taken 10 months of public consultation, referral to other agencies, technical assessment of the application and research for Environment Protection Authority Victoria (EPA) to grant a Works Approval (WA) for the construction of a used lead acid battery (ULAB) recycling plant in Hazelwood North.
Read more