Australia, Latest News, News, Waste & Resource Recovery

2020 APCO award finalists

This year, 45 organisations from across nine industry sectors have been recognised for their sustainable packaging innovation and leadership, including their dedication to meeting the 2025 National Packaging Targets.

According to APCO CEO, Brooke Donnelly, “With 2020 presenting such a unique and challenging time for many Members, it’s more important than ever to recognise the hard work of organisations that are continuing to make sustainability a top priority. On behalf of the whole APCO team, I’d like to extend a huge congratulations to all of our finalists for 2020 and we look forward to celebrating (virtually) with all of you later this month”.

The APCO Awards will take place virtually on 18 November. Given this year’s shorter online format, the Industry Sector Award winners will be announced ahead of the ceremony at 9am via email and social media. Registration is now open to APCO Members via the APCO website:

The 2020 APCO Award finalists include:

The Industry Sector Awards

Finalists in the Industry Sector Awards are assessed based on members’ Annual Reporting scores and their performance against the Packaging Sustainability Framework criteria. The Industry Sector Awards are made up of nine categories, and this year’s finalists include:

  • 3M Australia
  • ABC Tissue Products
  • Australian Postal Organisation
  • ALDI Stores (Australia)
  • Amgen Australia
  • C.A. Henschke & Company
  • Coles Supermarkets Australia
  • Colourtrend Paints (Aust.)
  • CHEP Australia
  • Chobani
  • Dell Australia
  • Detmold Packaging
  • Fonterra Brands (Australia)
  • Garden City Plastics
  • GM Holden
  • Hugo Boss Australia
  • KeepCup
  • Kellogg (Aust)
  • Kyocera Document Solutions Australia
  • LyondellBasell Australia
  • McCormick Foods Australia
  • Officeworks
  • Panasonic Australia
  • Philip Morris
  • Procter & Gamble Australia
  • Qantas Airways
  • Rawbone Pet Foods
  • Ridley Corporation
  • Rivalea (Australia)
  • SingTel Optus
  • Super Retail Group
  • Telstra Corporation

Outstanding Achievement Awards

The Outstanding Achievement Awards recognise members that have demonstrated exceptional commitment to Leadership, Sustainable Packaging Outcomes, and Sustainable Packaging Operations in the APCO Annual Reporting process. The shortlisted businesses include:

  • CHEP Australia
  • Coca-Cola Amatil
  • Detmold Packaging
  • KeepCup
  • Kellogg (Aust)
  • LyondellBasell Australia
  • Panasonic Australia
  • Sancell
  • S.C. Johnson & Son
  • Storopack Australia
  • Zipform Packaging

Our Packaging Future Awards

New in 2020, the Our Packaging Future Awards highlight innovation and leadership from members in sustainable packaging education (industry and consumer facing), improved collection and recycling systems, and end-market development. The Awards were self-nominated, with the impressive range of submissions assessed against three key pillars of innovation, accessibility and impact. The finalists include:

  • ALDI Stores: 25by25 Plastics and Packaging Commitments and Communication Campaign
  • BioPak: BioPak Compost service
  • BioPak: World’s first zero waste flight with Qantas
  • Coca-Cola Amatil: 100 per cent recycled PET beverage packaging
  • Coles Supermarkets: Coles Brand recyclable packaging project
  • Hanes: Packaging Sustainability Education campaign
  • Natures Organics: Cove, its range of reusable and refillable cleaning products,
  • Signet: Unpack It, eco-friendly packaging webinar series
  • TerraCycle Australia & New Zealand: The Colgate Community Garden Challenge
  • THE ICONIC:  100 per cent post-consumer recycled plastic delivery satchels
  • Unilever Australia & New Zealand: “Buy Better” consumer campaign
  • Woolworths: Industrially compostable coffee pods and supporting collection scheme

Sustainability Champion Award

The Sustainability Champion Award recognises individual commitment to a range of criteria, including dedication to embedding sustainability into organisational practice, leadership, outstanding performance, standout achievements and personal growth. The Sustainability Champion finalists for 2020 include:

  • Caitlyn Richards, Coles
  • Ian Jacobi, Modern Dental Australia
  • Lachlan Feggans, CHEP Australia
  • Matthew Mills, Garden City Plastics
  • Monica Doyle, Brownes Dairy