Australia, Industry News, Latest News, News, Professional Services

WARR leader picks up industry advocacy honour

The 2020 Woman in Industry Awards Industry Advocacy prize has been awarded to National Waste and Recycling Industry Council (NWRIC) CEO, Rose Read.

Read was cited for her work in the waste management and resource recovery sector over several decades, where she has held significant leadership roles. These include director and co-founder of Ewaste Watch Institute and is Adjunct Professor at the Institute of Sustainable Futures.

Read told Inside Waste that the Award was a great initiative for women.

“Across the sector, we are seeing quite diverse skills and this is having a positive impact at an operational level,” she said.

As NWRIC CEO, Read represents the largest waste and recycling companies operating nationwide, with a turnover of more than $6 billion per year and employing over 15,000 people.

Depth of knowledge

Six long-standing women in industry advocates, comprised the judging panel and cited Read’s depth of policy knowledge and operational experience  which has delivered measurable benefit and noteworthy outcomes over many years.

The panel comprised:

  • Kelly Godeau, Director Corporate Affairs – Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre
  • Kylie Fahey, Chief Executive Officer – Institute of Quarrying Australia
  • Christine Gibbs-Stewart, Chief Executive Officer – Austmine
  • Melissa Donald, Board Director – National Association of Women in Operations
  • Angela Gaylard, Head of Operations – Tradeswomen Australia Foundation
  • Hayley Rohrlach, Chair – National Committee for Women in Engineering
  • Denis Robertson, Founder – Roadmaster Haulage

“To be nominated for this award is an honour in itself. And to win such an award highlights the importance of industry advocacy and my contribution to much needed waste management and resource recovery outcomes for Australia,” Read added

The Women in Industry Awards Now is in its seventh year, recognise and reward the achievements of women working within the waste management, engineering, manufacturing, process control and commercial road transport industries.

Advocacy Award Finalists

Elizabeth Molyneux – AGL Energy
Hayley Jarick – Supply Chain Sustainability School
Jacquelene Brotherton – Transport Women Australia Limited
Jodie Sainsbury – Kickass Women
Joy Marrocco – AGL
Shay Chalmers – Strategic Engineering
Sonja Malcolm – Sydney Metro