Industry News

Industry leaders from packaging, sustainability and recycling join APCO Board

Industry leaders spanning the waste and recycling, packaging and sustainability sectors have been appointed as directors to the Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation (APCO) Board.

The new Board directors were officially appointed at the Annual General Meeting in Sydney. Key industry leaders were also in attendance, including representatives from Coles, Lion, Campbell Arnott’s, Smith’s & Sakata, Goodman Fielder, Coca Cola Amatil, ACCO brands and CHEP.

The new Board directors include David Singh, chair of the Australian Council of Recycling and owner of Re.Group, which oversees the Container Deposit Schemes in the ACT and Queensland. Singh’s appointment reflects the ongoing collaboration between APCO and the waste and recycling industries, and APCO’s ongoing support for the roll out of the Container Deposit Schemes nationally.

Andrew Petersen, CEO, director and company secretary of the Business Council for Sustainable Development Australia (previously known as Sustainable Business Australia) and Board director of the Banksia Foundation since 2013. Petersen’s wealth of experience in the sustainable business sector is closely aligned with APCO’s work on Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 12 and the UN Global Compact membership.

Finally, Keith Chessell, a fellow of the Australian Institute of Packaging, brings close to 50 years of invaluable experience in the packaging, fast-moving consumer goods (FMCG) and food and beverage sectors.

“We are delighted to welcome such a wealth of diversity of industry experiences to the APCO Board at such a critical time for Australia’s waste and recycling, packaging and sustainability sectors,” said Sam Andersen, APCO Board chair.

“This has been a remarkable year of growth and progress for APCO and we look forward to an even more productive year in 2019 with the support and guidance of the new Board directors.”

The full 2019 Board includes Sam Andersen, Andrew Petersen, Keith Chessell, David Singh, Trent Bartlett, Jacky Nordsvan, Anne Astin, Jason Goode and Renata Lopes.