The federal government has named a former Westpac executive and the SMSF Association managing director as new appointees to the Clean Energy Finance Corporation board.

In a joint statement, minister for the environment and energy Josh Frydenberg and minister for finance Mathias Cormann announced that former Westpac deputy chief executive Philip Coffey and the SMSF managing director Andrea Slattery have been appointed to the CEFC board, alongside former CEO of Spark Infrastructure Laura Reed.

The statement describes the government body as a "specialist clean energy financier, investing with commercial rigour to increase the flow of finance into renewable energy, energy efficiency and low emissions technologies". 

"The new appointments bring experience and skills in finance and investment, energy markets and corporate governance skills and add to the geographical diversity to the board," the statement said.

Coffey has strong experience in infrastructure asset management and leading technology projects. He is currently on the boards of Lendlease and Hastings Management.

Slattery has more than 25 years of experience in financial services and superannuation, having led the SMSF Association from 2003. She currently sits on the boards of Argo Global Listed Infrastructure and the South Australian Cricket Association. 

Reed has over 20 years experience in the energy infrastructure sector and is currently chair of ERIC Alpha Holdings and Epic Energy Group. Her other current board positions include Ausgrid, Canadian Utilities and ATCO Australia.

Outgoing board members Martijn Wilder and Paul Binsted complete their five-year terms on January 31, with the new appointees to commence on February 1.